top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNick Brunell

Joy from monotony

There's not enough stuff I did to make a more visual post, but there was some "progress" in finding a fricking job over the break. Now, the takeaway as far as I'm concerned is purely an updated reference for my resume, as what I did was just go over to someone's house and sort papers for them for a couple hours. Like, I can't even count the getting paid part because it was only a one off thing; way too far from something more regular.

With this said - and I was running on fumes at the time, as usual my sleep schedule is "sleep when you're needed, be awake when you're not" - one thing I definitely noticed is that it was a more satisfying use of my time than Game Gen has been recently - down to me trying to keep the discipline to get the last piles done. I've had File Clerk as one of my goal jobs or things to look for, but this reassured that something simplistic and monotonous is actually desirable, where I can keep to myself and do things constantly, so ideally this could be twisted into a pitch to make myself more hirable? Anyway, The Missing: JJ Macfield and the Island of Lost Memories is far more than "just a SWERY game"; it was the perfect next step in increasing my puzzle platformer skills, and "online trophies" are the only reason I need to say Flower > Journey. (Although Journey certainly holds its own even against many of its modern influences.)

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page